<< Back to News

Louisburg FFA, Katzer, and Tucker Receive Gold Rankings at National Floriculture CDE

Oct 31, 2015

LOUISVILLE- Winners of the National FFA Floriculture Career Development Event (CDE) were announced Friday at the annual awards banquet. The National FFA Floriculture CDE was held in conjunction with the 88th National FFA Convention & Expo in Louisville, Ky. Mr. David Kercheval with the Texas Department of Agriculture served as superintendent of this year\'s event.

The Louisburg FFA Chapter received a gold emblem ranking. Team members included Ella Katzer and Abigail Tucker who received gold emblem individual rankings and Megan Eberhart and Kaitlyn Gaza who received silver emblem rankings.

The top ten individuals and the national winning team members received cash awards to recognize their success in the event. The cash awards and the floriculture event are sponsored by Ball Horticultural Company and Bayer CropScience as a special project of the National FFA Foundation and the National FFA Organization. Merchants in the Louisville area also donated and loaned plant materials used for the event.

In the National FFA Floriculture CDE, FFA members test their knowledge and skills in the production and retailing of flowers, plants and foliage. Participants must complete a general knowledge exam on the floriculture industry, identify plant materials, demonstrate problem solving and decision-making skills, employment and customer service skills, technical floral skills and the ability to work as a team. Teams competed at the local and state levels to earn the privilege of representing their home state at the National FFA Convention & Expo.

This event, held at the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville, Ky., is one of many educational activities at the national convention in which FFA members apply the knowledge gained in the classroom for real-life situations.

Gold Emblem Teams
Louisburg FFA, KS

Gold Emblem Individuals
Ella Katzer of Louisburg FFA, KS
Abigail Tucker of Louisburg FFA, KS                                     

Silver Emblem Individuals
Megan Eberhart of Louisburg FFA, KS
Kaitlyn Gaza of Louisburg FFA, KS

<< Back to News